Grilled Green Chicken

I have a small container garden of peppers and herbs on my porch and this summer the herb are exploding. The mint has been particularly prodigious and I’ve been on the lookout for recipes that will help me make use of my bounty.

A friend recently shared the following recipe for Green Grilled Chicken and I absolutely love it. I’ve used the marinade on chicken, pork, steak and shrimp and it’s delicious on all of them.

I don’t follow a paleo diet and made a few modifications. I added oil to help prevent the grilled meats from sticking to the grill, I used whatever fish sauce I had in my fridge and instead of Aleppo I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne.

Feeds 4-6 people

  • 1 medium sweet onion, peeled and coarsely chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1 cup packed cilantro leaves and stems
  • 1 1/4 cups packed basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup packed mint leaves
  • 4 tablespoons of  Red Boat fish sauce
  • 3 peeled garlic cloves
  • zest of 1 lime
  • plenty ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of Aleppo pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of maple syrup or 2 tablespoons of apple juice (I used apple juice)
  • Kosher salt
  • 3 pounds of chicken drumsticks or thighs

Place all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

Add chicken to a 1 gallon zip top bag or bowl and pour the marinade over it.

Seal or cover and let marinate for at least an hour and up to a day.

Grill the chicken and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

